Jamgon Kongtrul’s “Treasury of Knowledge; Foundations of Buddhist Study and Practice


Jamgön Kongtrül's Treasury of Knowledge ,  twenty-five years in the making, stands out as a unique masterpiece embodying the entire range of Buddhist teachings as they were preserved in Tibet. In his monumental Treasury of Knowledge, Jamgön Kongtrül presents a complete account of the major lines of thought and practice that comprise Tibetan Buddhism.

Book One: Myriad Worlds

Jamgon Kongtrul's describes the four major cosmological systems found in the Tibetan tradition. Each of these cosmologies shows how the world arises from mind, whether through the accumulated results of past actions or from the constant striving of awareness to know itself.

Books Two, Three and Four: Buddhism's Journey To Tibet

Beginning with the appearance of the Buddha in our world (Book Two), it describes the Buddha's life, his enlightenment, and what he taught (Book Three) from a multitude of Buddhist viewpoints. Buddhism's transmission to and preservation in Tibet is the focus of the main part of this volume (Book Four), which describes the scriptural transmissions and lineages of meditation practice as well as the Buddhist arts that together make up the world of Tibetan Buddhism.

Book Five: Buddhist Ethics

This volume is the fifth book Jamgön Kongtrül explains the complete ethical code of personal liberation as it applies to both monastic and lay persons, the precepts for those aspiring to the life of a bodhisattva, and the exceptional pledges for practitioners on the Yogic  path of pure perception.

Book Six, Parts One and Two: Indo-Tibetan Classical Learning and Buddhist Phenomenology
The first two parts of Book Six, contained in this volume, respectively concern Indo-Tibetan classical learning and Buddhist phenomenology. The former analyzes the traditional subjects of phonology and Sanskrit grammar, logic, fine art, and medicine, along with astrology and poetics.. Part Two examines the shared inheritance of all Buddhist traditions from three distinct perspectives, corresponding to the three successive turnings of the doctrinal wheel.

Book Six, Part Three: Frameworks of Buddhist Philosophy

This volume, Frameworks of Buddhist Philosophy, is his masterful survey of the broad themes and subtle philosophical points found in more than fifteen hundred years of Buddhist philosophical writings. In a clear and systematic manner, he sets out the traditional framework of Buddhism's three vehicles and four philosophical systems, and provides an overview of the key points of each system.

Book Seven and Book Eight, Parts One and Two: Foundations of Buddhist Study and Practice

Book Seven elucidates the various keys needed to correctly interpret, understand, and contemplate Buddhist teachings, How the teachings are to be integrated into one’s life through the practice of meditation, which unites a state of one-pointed attention with profound insight into emptiness.

Book Eight, Part Three: The Elements of Tantric Practice

Presents the essential components of the path of highest yoga, a system of meditation that unites wisdom and compassion . The first phase, that of creation, relies primarily on the use of the imagination to effect personal transformation. The phase of completion allows the practitioner to perfect the process of transformation by training in methods that manipulate the energies and constituents of the mind and body. The result of this path is the direct experience of the fundamental nature of mind and phenomena. 

Book Eight, Part Four: Esoteric Instructions

Esoteric Instructions is a collection of intimate records of personal teachings by masters that simplify tantric meditations by providing pertinent examples and very personal and helpful hints to disciples based on the master's own experience. Although originally oral in nature, they have been codified and passed down through specific lineages from teacher to student.

Books Nine and Ten: Journey and Goal

Here Jamgon Kongtrül  focuses on the spiritual path—the journey and the resultant state of enlightenment to which it leads—the goal. Extensively varied perspectives are offered not only from within the many schools of Buddhism but also from the different levels of practice and attainment.

1st Kalu Rinpoche Book List


The Dharma That Illuminates All Beings Impartially

Collection of discourses on the 4 noble Truths, the Bardo, Buddhist Vows, Mandala Offerings, Mahamudra Meditation and women in the Dharma University of New York Press 1986.


Foundations of Tibetan Buddhism

A presentation of Buddhist Paths common to all Tibetan Lineages with Clear detailed instruction on the Preliminary Practices.
Snow Lion Publications, 2004.


Gently Whispered

An collection of Oral Teachings on Refuge, Nature of Mind, Death and Rebirth With Meditation instruction Station Hill Press, 1995.


Excellent Buddhism An Exemplary Life

Inspirational stories of past Buddhist Practitioners and Adepts allow us to discover the intimate life of Awakened Beings. Clearpoint Press, 1995.


Profound Buddhism From Hinayana to Vajrayana

Teachings on human existence, the nature of mind, impermanence, karma, Pacifying afflicting emotions and the body-mind relationship. Clearpoint Press, 1995.


Secret Buddhism Vajrayana Practices

Essentials of Empowements, Preliminary Practices, Vows, 6 Yoga’s of Naropa Tibetan Medicine and history of Shangpa Kagyu Clearpoint Press, 1995.


Luminous Mind The Way of the Buddha

The full range of Buddhist Practices from the basic analysis of the Nature of Mind to its ultimate refinement in the teachings of Mahamudra. Wisdom Publications, 1997.